By: Daniel Kelly (@Ukurrie)

Tom Wilson was the runaway winner at the 2021 Laurie Hill Trophy Awards Night as he was crowned as the Bullants player of the year.

Daniel Hughes and Liam Mackie finished second and third respectively for their outstanding seasons, but there was truly only one likely outcome.

In an evening which looked back on an eventful season, it also previewed a new era at the Bullants on all fronts.

Josh Fraser was farewelled as a pivotal character in the club’s long history, after his belief in a future for the Ants brought them back from extinction after the acrimonious split with Carlton in 2020.

As the Collingwood Football Club has confirmed in his appointment to their ranks, he’s an outstanding coach and leader of men too.

Glenn Strachan bade a heartfelt farewell to his teammates as he called time on a stellar VFL career.

As notable as the exits are, they are making way because they know the talent below them is rising and ready to lead the club forward.

The club could not wish for a smoother transition with Ben Hart taking over the senior duties in 2022, after serving as one of Fraser’s lieutenants.

Mutaz El Nour won the Kane Lambert Trophy as the Best Player Under 22, while Sunny Brazier emerged from the development list to claim the Brent Bransgrove Award.

Tynan Smith was honoured with the Jame Shaw Trophy as the club’s leading goal kicker.